… barbering

It’s been a while since my last post and I hope you’re still there.

There is no excuse for this: I was lazy; my mind went from writing to doing other things; procrastination – that’s the word and this is the worst activity. I won’t recommend this to anyone. “Procrastination is the thief of time!” (I don’t know who said it but it is true).

Now, back to … barbering.

This is my second passion. If you didn’t read the previous posts, I suggest you to do it as you’ll understand better what I’m talking about.

This is a passion that I found in the last 3 years. Strange, my first haircut was when I was 3, so it’s all connected.

Everything started with me, braking my heel, working as a window cleaner. That was a really painful experience. Let me tell you about this in a short story.

I was working as a window cleaner for almost 8 months. I fell in the first week, but on the way down I grab a metallic gutter and landed properly, like a cat. And this time, I gave my notice, I had another week to work and I was ready to go around Europe on my motorcycle. It didn’t happen. It was almost the last house of the day, a friend of my girlfriend, one of my own customers. I was rushing things a bit, set the ladder, went up, looking for something to grab in case the ladder slips and it did. On the way down I was looking to fall between the ladder squares, not on it. And I fell properly, on my left heel and my right buttock. Next second I wanted to get up, to continue what I started, but I couldn’t. A sharp pain connected the heel to my brain. All my blood went – I don’t know where, but that was the first time when I felt I was fainting. I went to the hospital which was 5 minutes driving – it was like 30 minutes for me. The curtain almost closed a few times, I didn’t have enough air so I opened a window; the image was either going white or dark. I know that it was a nice 23rd August shiny morning. The afternoon wasn’t that great.

Anyway, 2 months in plaster made me weight my options: I didn’t have many (or any).

The best part of this? I moved with my girlfriend that day. And we’re still together.

The landlady where I left from, in Leamington Spa, which is still a good friend of ours, asked me just before the event if I could be interested in starting hairdressing: because I am good with hands (repairing things in her house).

And that became the only option one month after the event.

I went on my crutches to a hairdresser not far, a friend of my landlady. She was willing to teach me about hair, when I would’ve been able to walk again. And I was able to start at the beginning of November: me riding my motorcycle to a salon in another town – Kenilworth, because I wasn’t able to drive – was still hurting.

Anyway, we agreed on a price for the ‘work and learn’ course and a ‘recognised’ diploma. And the first thing I remember when I touched someone else’s hair (my landlady in the salon) is that I was afraid. I was so tender with her hair: don’t pull it, don’t brake it, don’t …touch it !

From that training which lasted till May, I learned how to do threading, face waxing, some pedicure and … some hair watching youtube and practising in the salon.

Even now I think I didn’t learn much, but without those first steps I would’ve been in the same position: window cleaner or worst. I immersed myself in learning, I was watching and reading every evening about hairdressing and barbering.

I went without paying all my course and without a diploma – I’m not proud of myself about that but I think that I paid for what I got. I apologise if I am in arrears.

Next step? A Turkish Barbershop in Redditch. I went there, explained my situation, had a trial day, agreed on something, started the job, commuting every way for 45 minutes. I learned there as well, but the agreement was broken by the other side this time. Another lesson learned – have a proper agreement, even a SMS. And stay away from untrusted people.

So, I went back to Leamington, under the same brand like the first one but in barbers this time – the guy bought the lease for the barbershop for 10 years. And it was the second year of the lease.

I stayed there 21 months. That was the place where I learned the most. I also went to different shows in Birmingham, trying to keep myself updated. I also went to Warwickshire College and got a NVQ level 2 in Hairdressing with distinction.

WP_20160922_19_38_03_Pro

https://www.wcg.ac.uk

Learning is a continuous process and in hairdressing you have to keep updating. I wasn’t the gifted or talented one in the college and I had to study hard to achieve that but I enjoyed every moment. Still learning and still enjoying.

Now it’s my turn to give from my knowledge. If somebody wants to know something I’m happy to answer or to show you how. And if I don’t know how, I will do my research.

In fact I’d like to open a few shops in the future. There will plenty of room to teach people there. It is a nice skill, you can take it anywhere in the world, you work indoor and you can’t fall to brake your heel. Hair is growing and people will always need a haircut. Keep that in mind !

So, next time I’ll tell you about future plans.

Keep in touch and if you have anything to ask, add, comment, like or dislike please do that below.

All the best,

Barber Julian

PS: I have a great collection of documents and advice, PDF or PowerPoint. Let me know if you need anything and I’ll send it to you. Use the contact form below.

Author: Barber Julian

Barber/ Hairdresser, Rider, Economist, BMW motorcycles fan

Leave a comment